Shopping Cart Clear All
Continue Shopping Checkout

​How Does Ladder Work in Diablo 2 Resurrected

Mar-17-2022 PST Diablo II Resurrected

In Diablo 2 Resurrected, all the ranked seasons are called a Ladder, and you need to climb the ladder to reach the top of the leaderboard. To climb the ladder, you will be competing against players of the same rank, and the winner will climb the ladder to the next step.

The maximum level of the ladder is 99, and you have to reach the top as soon as possible to get your hands on exclusive items. Compared to other modes in Diablo 2 Resurrected, you need to follow a few new rules, and this article features everything you need to know about how ladders work.

Types of the Ladder

Before moving to how the ladder works, we need to learn how many types of diablo 2 resurrected ladder are available, and this is the main difference between them. By learning about what each ladder offers, you can take the desired ladder instead of wasting your time testing each ladder by yourself. Based on the content and difficulty, there are four different ladders in Diablo 2 resurrected.

Standard Ladder

The standard ladder is the simplest type of ladder available in Diablo 2, and it contains four acts. 

Hardcore Ladder

The Hardcode ladder is more difficult than the standard ladder because you have to start in case your character dies before the end of this ladder. To access all four sections of the hardcore ladder, you need to complete Diablo 2 first, and you can buy currency from MMOexp to quickly finish the game. Expansion Ladder

The expansion ladder is the same as the standard ladder version with just a few expansions. It offers a fifth act along with the four acts of the standard ladder. Before accessing the expansion ladder, you need the Lord of Destruction addon.

Expansion Hardcore Ladder

Just like the expansion of the normal ladder, this type of ladder expands the simple hardcore ladder. It offers the fifth act and all the other content of the normal hardcore ladder. You have only one life the expansion hardcore ladder and the simple hardcore ladder.

How Does The Ladder Work?

There is bad news if you didn’t previously tick the ladder box when you created your current character in Diablo 2 Resurrected because you can’t transfer your old character to the ladder mode. To participate in the ladder, you have to create a new character and tick the Ladder box from the menu.

After creating your new character, you can play the entire season with the same character and have to wait for the next season to change your character. There is no exact schedule of when the season will reset as it changes from season to season. The game always notifies players before resetting the season, and it happens every six months or so.

Your current character will move to your normal squad after the ladder reset but don’t worry, as all your equipped d2r items and gear will remain with your character. You have to choose a new character for each season as you can’t take part in two seasons with the same character.

You can play with your old character after one season with another, but the game doesn’t reset the ranking. By resetting the ladder, developers give players a chance to rest for some time and make a strategy for the upcoming season. You don’t have to work on the same character again, as it will stay upgraded even after the ladder ends.

Diablo 2 Resurrected Ladder Rewards

As far as the Diablo 2 ladder is concerned, there are no rewards, and you will only get to enjoy the glory of the top spot on the leaderboard. This is enough motivation for most players to work hard and climb the ladder by destroying their rivals. With a first place at the leaderboard, you get benefits such as rune words, hoardric cube formulae, and some leveling items.

You can upgrade some uncommon items to their maximum level with the hoardric cube formulae. If you are lucky enough, you will also get your hands on some unique drops from other ladder-related events that will give you an edge over players who don’t participate ladder at all. For some players, the fact that you can keep all the character items and upgrades even after the ladder ends keeps them going.


Now that you know everything about Diablo 2 Resurrected ladder rewards along with its rewards, select the desired character and set on your journey to the top of the ladder. This is a great way to show your rivals what you are capable of and compete with players from all around the globe.